Pago Youth withdrew from 2020 Oceania Champions League

🇧🇷 Clique aqui para ler em português

Oceania Football Confederation recently released the 2020 OFC Champions League group stage draw and its venues. Now they released the Preliminary Round draw with a huge surprise: only three teams will play it.

The OFC Champions League Preliminary Round is usually played by four teams: one from American Samoa, one from Cook Islands, one from Samoa and one from Tonga. However the 2020 edition will have only three teams in this stage because Pago Youth (American Samoa representant) withdrew from the competition due to a measles outbreak that is ravaging the country. Tonga and Samoa are also suffering with this epidemic but Lupe o le Soaga (Samoa) and Veitongo (Tonga) will take part of the continental competition alongside with Tupapa Maraerenga from Cook Islands.

Pago Youth Logo

The qualifying tournament will take place across three match days at Ngahue Reserve in Auckland on January 25, 28, and 31.

The winner of the Qualifying Stage tournament will join Group D in the OFC Champions League 2020, alongside AS Venus (Tahiti), Ba FC (Fiji), and Auckland City FC (New Zealand). The runner-up in qualifying will enter Group C with AS Magenta (New Caledonia), the S-League winner from the Solomon Islands, and AS Tiare Tahiti (Tahiti).

4 thoughts on “Pago Youth withdrew from 2020 Oceania Champions League

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: