VIDEO: Gunemba pushes referee after penalty denial vs Vitiaz

An exclusive video handed to Oceania Football Center appears to show Lae City FC captain and Papua New Guinea international Raymond Gunemba, alongside a teammate, pushing the referee just after the final whistle in the club’s 2-1 defeat to Vitiaz United last weekend in Lae.

The video, roughly one minute in length, captures the controversial dying moments of the game, which saw five-time reigning champions Lae City suffer their first defeat of the season to newcomers Vitiaz United on 25th January, 2020.

Image may contain: 1 person, playing a sport and outdoor
Raymond Gunemba, Lae City FC captain – PNGFA Media

In the video, with Lae trailing 2-1, a throw-in is taken towards the Vitiaz penalty box. Gunemba tussles with a Vitiaz defender inside the box before being brought down, but the referee does not give a penalty. Seconds later, the referee blows the whistle for full-time, before Gunemba sprints towards him and angrily pushes him in the back, before engaging in a heated conversation. A teammate also seems to push the referee, with his arms clearly swinging backwards after the incident.

You can watch the video right here.

With Gunemba having started and played a key role for Lae City again this weekend against FC Bougainville, it looks like he has thus far avoided a ban, despite the fact that according to local sources, the incident would be placed under investigation.

We’d love to hear your thoughts on this matter. Was that a clear penalty for Lae City and Raymond Gunemba? Were Gunemba and his teammate justified in pushing the referee? Should he be punished for his reaction? And should FC Bougainville fans feel hard done by, given that Gunemba played such a key role in the 3-2 defeat this weekend? Feel free to share your thoughts below.

7 thoughts on “VIDEO: Gunemba pushes referee after penalty denial vs Vitiaz

  1. That was a clear penalty went begging due to reffree’s inaction hence the reaction from Raymond. Ref had the opportunity to penalize or report but decided not to do so. So What is the point of raising again?

    Like

  2. It seems clear Raymond was pulled down in the contest.
    Ref failed his part.
    Raymond rightfully was frustrated However, he shouldnt have touched/pushed the referee .

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: