Hienghène and Ne Drehu kicks-off the 2022 OFC Champions League


Today – 4th June – the start of the 2022 OFC Champions League will be set. The most important competition in the South Pacific returns after two seasons of absence due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In the 2020 edition the tournament was cancelled just after the completion of the group stage.

As explained earlier the competition will have two stages: first the national champions and runners-up of the countries – except New Zealand who nominated Auckland City for the competition – competing for a spot in the final phase. The four developing nations – Tonga, Cook Islands, Samoa, and American Samoa – will compete against each other for a place in the quarterfinals.

The first clash will be between New Caledonia champions Hienghène Sport and current OFC Champions League title holders against New Caledonia league runners-up SC Ne Drehu.

Hienghène and Ne Drehu playing in the New Caledonia championship final – FCF Media

Currently Hienghène Sport is ranked second in the New Caledonia Super League while SC Ne Drehu is at third place – Tiga Sports is currently the top-placed side at New Caledonia’s premier league.

There will be two duels, the first takes place at Stade Yoshida with SC Ne Drehu being the home team, and the return match at Stade Numa-Daly on July 6th, both matches at 3pm Nouméa time. The winner advances to the final round that will include other teams from different Oceania countries.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: