OFC Women’s Nations Cup to be held in Fiji in July

The OFC Women’s Nations Cup is the most important tournament in the South Pacific for women- the tournament also serves as a qualifier for the World Cup. The 2022 edition has a different situation: New Zealand, which dominates the competition historicaly, will not participate in the tournament because it is one of the hosts of the 2023 Women’s World Cup alongside Australia – so this year’s tournament will also not as qualification for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games as in the previous editions.

Fiji’s Trina Davis celebrating her goal in the semifinal against Papua New Guinea at the 2018 OFC Women’s Nations Cup – OFC Media

Nine national teams will fight for a place in the intercontinental playoff – Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, and Cook Islands. American Samoa has withdrawn from the tournament because of COVID-19 problems.

The format of the tournament will consist in three groups with three teams each – the top two from each group advance and the best two third-placed teams to the quarterfinals – the draw for the groups takes place on May 10th.

The winners will go to Australia to play in an intercontinental playoff that will feature teams from around the globe. The OFC Women’s Nations Cup takes place from July 13 to 30 in Fiji.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: