ISPS Handa Women’s Premiership kicks-off in New Zealand

The 2020 ISPS Handa Women’s Premiership kicked-off in New Zealand as three matches were contested this weekend in the country. This is the first year that the championship is held under the name of ISPS Handa Women’s Premiership, since until last year the tournament was called National Women’s League.

The opening match of the season Current league champions Canterbury United Pride faced Southern United at Dunedin Artificial Turf on Saturday. Led by Britney-Lee Nicholson, who scored a brace, Pride beat their opponents by 4-1.

After finishing the past season in the third position, Auckland Football smashed Central Football by 9-1 at Riverhills Park. Rina Hirano scored a brace while Arisa Takeda, Ava Collins, Casey Elizabeth Berrier, Ella Russ, Liz Anton, Maisy Dewell and Paige Satchell scored once each.

Auckland Football smashed Central Football by 9-1 – AFF Media

The remaining match of the weekend was an 1-1 draw between Northern Lights and Capital Football. As the championship is contested by seven teams, WaiBOP Football had a bye week and has not yet debuted in the season. You can check more information about the tournament by clicking here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: