Galaxy FC clinch national title in Vanuatu

Already qualified for 2021 OFC Champions League, Galaxy FC and Malampa Revivors clashed at Korman Stadium in Port Vila to decide which side would lift VFF National Super League’s trophy this year.

Both sides reached the National League’s final for the second straight year. While Malampa Revivors were looking to win the national title for the second year in a row, Galaxy wanted to be national champions for the first time in their history.

It was a special match for two players: Andre Batick and Tasso Jeffery. Currently playing for Galaxy, both helped Malampa Revivors to win the national league last year. Moreover, it was the first time that both played against the Revivors.

Powerful striker Kensi Tangis found the net in the third minute of the game while his teammate Andre Batick extended Galaxy’s lead in the 25th minute. Despite all their efforts, Malampa Revivors failed to stop Tangis, who scored Galaxy’s third goal in the first half.

Batick (left) and Tangis (right)

Revivors’ head coach Steven Varegali tried to change the course of the match in the first minutes of the second half when Ismael Edward and Michel Soksok left the pitch to be replaced by Reginal Ravo and Jean-Claude Batick. However, these changes have not brought results and Varegali saw his former player Andre Batick scoring again for Galaxy.

The fifth and final goal of the match was netted by Kensi Tangis who scored a hat-trick. At the final whistle, the score was 5-0 in favour of Galaxy that lifted VFF National Super League’s trophy for the first time ever.

Galaxy players celebrating the title – Vanuatu Sports News

Galaxy received a prize of 1 million Vatu (local currency) for the national title, while Malampa Revivors received 500,000 Vatu for finishing second. In the third place play-off match, LL Echo smashed RueRue by 6-0 to win the 200,000 Vatu prize. John Well Wohale scored four goals while Albert Nemaiah and Peter Kauh scored once each.

Kensi Tangis (Galaxy) and John Well Wohale (LL Echo) finished the tournament with five goals scored each while Andre Batick (Galaxy) and Melkyzedeck Gasi (RueRue) scored four goals each. You can check more information about 2020 VFF National Super League by clicking here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: