OFC Women’s Nations Cup groups decided

The OFC Women’s Nations Cup is Oceania’s most important tournament for women. Today – May 10th – the draw was made to determine the groups for the 2022 tournament that will give a chance for an Oceania team other than New Zealand to contest the intercontinental playoff for the first time.

There will be 3 groups with 3 teams, with the top two teams and the top two third-placed teams advancing to the quarterfinals. The FIFA ranking was the criteria used for which team would be in each pot for the draw.

OFC Women’s Nations Cup Group Stage – OFC Media

The Papua New Guinea women’s national team, five-time winners of the Pacific Games, and the Fiji women’s team, current runners-up in the Nations Cup, are the two favorites to fight for the competition title and consequently travel to Australia to fight for a spot in the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

The tournament will have an unprecedented winner as New Zealand which is co-host of the 2023 Women’s World Cup will not participate in the competition. The other two teams that have already won the tournament – Taiwan and Australia – are no longer playing in the Oceania Football Confederation.

The tournament takes place from July 13th to July 30th in Fiji.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: