OFC Champions League is Back!

After three years of inactivity, the largest club competition in the South Pacific is back. The OFC Champions League will begin in June with a new format with fewer matches and less travel because of flight restrictions imposed after the Covid-19 pandemic.

The champions and runners-up of the major national leagues – except New Zealand Football who have named Auckland City as their representative in the final round – from Oceania will confront each other in the first round to compete for a spot in the final round.

The champions of the four developing nations (Cook Islands, Tonga, Samoa, and American Samoa) fought each other to determine who advanced to the final. The matches have not yet been scheduled to take place.

OFC Champions League Trophy – Phototek

Match Schedule:

4th June | Sc Ne Drehu vs Hienghène Sport – Stade Yoshida, Kone

6th June | Hienghène Sport vs Sc Ne Drehu – Stade Numa Daly, Noumea

6th June | Solomon Warriors FC vs Central Coast FC – TBC

10th June | Central Coast FC vs Solomon Warriors FC – TBC

14th June | AS Pirae vs AS Venus – Stade Pater, Papeete

17th June | Rewa FC vs Lautoka FC – Churchill Park, Lautoka

18th June | RueRue FC vs Galaxy FC – Luganville Soccer City Stadium, Luganville

19th June | Lautoka FC vs Rewa FC – Ratu Cakobau Park, Suva

25th June | Galaxy FC vs RueRue FC – Korman Stadium, Port Vila

25th June | Lae City FC vs Hekari United FC – PNG Football Stadium, Port Moresby

All the information was released by the Oceania Football Confederation on their website. The OFC Champions League champion will represent Oceania at the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: